top of page

Our History - 100 years of volunteer service

On April 2, 1915, at the Mandeville Inn, the de facto town hall, a formal fire department was proposed. A few weeks later, 13 men had signed up to form the organization. Through chowder parties, card games, the issuance of $5 bonds culminating in a raffle where the first prize was a pig, the fire department had enough funds to purchase a barn to act as headquarters. Unfortunately, this barn caught fire and destroyed much of the fire department's equipment. The volunteers rebuilt the firehouse at its current location on Jackson Avenue. Since its rebuilding, Engine Company No. 1 has been serving the town without pause.


In 1938, Engine Company No. 1 responded to a call at the First Reformed Church of Pompton Plains, one of the oldest churches in the nation and one where George Washington prayed with his troops during the Revolutionary War. Even without fire hydrants and water mains, Engine Company No. 1 was able to save the stone walls of the church. In 1957, Engine Company No.1 spent a week fighting a fire at the factory complex of the Pequannock Hard Rubber Co. in Butler, NJ. The fire company has transformed into one that is equipped to handle a multitude of disasters. As the world has evolved, Engine Company No. 1 has kept pace. With Pompton Plains and Pequannock sections of town located in the flood plains, the engine company is well prepared for flood rescues and evacuations as well as heavy rescue situations. Firefighters are also trained to handle chemical and biohazard situations.


Along with training programs geared towards our 21st Century world, Pequannock Township Engine Company No.1 has recently acquired a new 2015 Pierce Quint ladder truck and pumper to replace a 20-year-old truck. This truck will provide much-needed flexibility and will allow the engine company to better serve the needs of the town in times when there are a limited number of firefighters available. Engine Company No. 1 has continued to rise to the occasion over the years, keeping up with the latest training and necessary equipment.

50 Year Anniversary Newspaper Article from The Herald News, October 1964 

Past Chiefs

E.W. Stillman 1915
Nicholas Sweetman
James Card
Fred Sieling
William Lewis Arthur
J. Wise Well Gilland
Henry Tintle Jr.
George Dewilde
Harry Henning 1948-1949
Egil M. Aalberg 1950-1957
William Colfax Gilland 1958-1965
Don Squire 1966
George Dewilde 1967-1970
William Dunlap 1971
Victor Becker 1972-1973
William Colfax Gilland 1974-1975
Victor Becker 1976-1977
Raymond Mara 1978-1979
Thomas Siemonsma 1980-1981
Robert Burlew 1982-1983
Raymond Mara 1984-1985
Robert Burlew 1986-1987
Eugene McKeown 1988-1991
James Schneider Jr. 1992-1993
Richard Huhn 1994-1996
Robert Jones 1997-1999
Bryan Daley 2000-2005
Dave Hollberg 2006-2008
David James 2009-2011
Christopher Bell 2012-2014
Chris Burlew 2015-2017
Christopher Bell 2018 - 2022
Bryan Daley 2023 - Incumbent
bottom of page